Junior National Team selects World Cup roster

by on August 24, 2013

team canada

Subscribe to our newsletter

 * Off it goes in search of medals: Team Canada Junior National Team with five returnees from the silver-medal winning Canuck team at the World Cup. Photo: Adam Morissette Studios ….


2014 Top Canadians eligible for draft
2013 Canadians in the Minors 
2013 Canadians in College 
Letters of Intent
2012-13 Canadians at Canadian schools


Onyshko, Horne allow 3 ER in win

Stevenson pitches Canucks to DH split

Thibideau has 3 hits in loss Down Under

Late rally to beat Australia

Fontaine clears bases with triple

Edged in Down Under opener

Manuel impresses in intra squad


By Adam Morissette

GOLD COAST, Australia – Baseball Canada selected its 20-player Junior National Team roster that will represent Canada at the IBAF 18U World Cup Aug. 30-Sept. 8 in Taichung, Taiwan.

The Junior National Team program recently completed a seven-game exhibition series against Australia and Riseisha College from Japan as part of the team’s selection process.

Beginning today, Canada will play three exhibition games against Australia before players, coaches and staff travel to Taichung on August 27th.

Canada will open the 12-team tournament on Aug. 30 against Japan at 9am CST/9pm ET (Aug. 29) at Taichung Stadium.

The Junior National Team roster features:

— Five players that were members of 2012 Junior National Team that won silver at the 2012 IBAF 18U World Cup in Seoul, Korea: Gareth Morgan (North York, Ont.), Josh Naylor (Mississauga, Ont.), Cal Quantrill (Port Hope, Ont.), Travis Seabrooke (Peterborough, Ont.) and Owen Spiwak (Mississauga, Ont.).

–Nine players chosen in last June’s MLB First Year Player Draft: Malik Collymore (Mississauga, Ont.), Cardinals; Lachlan Fontaine (North Vancouver, BC) Mariners; Tyler O’Neill (Maple Ridge, BC) Mariners; Daniel Procopio (Toronto, Ont), Mets; Sean Ratcliffe (Ajax), Blue Jays; Chris Thibideau (Dartmouth, NS), Padres, Seabrooke, Orioles, Spiwak, Mets and Quantrill, Yankees)

— Five of the drafted players have since signed professional contracts (Collymore, Fontaine, O’Neill, Ratcliffe and Seabrooke).

— The coaching staff is led by coach Greg Hamilton (Ottawa, Ont.) along with pitching coach Chris Reitsma (Calgary, Alta.) and coaches Hyung Cho (Scarborough, Ont.) and Corey Eckstein (Abbotsford, BC).

Canada will compete in Pool A and be joined by Japan, Mexico, Czech Republic, Venezuela and host Chinese Taipei.

Pool B will consist of last year’s gold medalists the United States along with Australia, Colombia, South Korea, Italy and Cuba.

Teams will play a round-robin style format in round one with the top three records in each pool playing each other in crossover games.

Following round two, the top two records will meet for gold, while the third a fourth best records will play to decide the bronze medal.

The six players not making the final squad were Nathan Borges (Brooklin, Ont.), Kurt Horne (Sooke, BC), Morgan Loftstrom (West Kelowna, BC), Ben Onyshko (Winnipeg, Man.), Colton Wood (Victoria, BC) and Blake Weston (Oakville, Ont.).

IBAF 18U Tournament Website



Adam Morissette
Adam Morissette was born and raised in Ottawa, Ont. where sports were always a big part of his life whether it be baseball, hockey or football, including playing two seasons as centre for coach Pat Sheahan with the Queen's University Golden Gaels in Kingston

Read full bio

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>