Sportsnet's signal from Taiwan better than CBC's from Ajax

November 10th, 2015


Watch Team Canada at Premier 12

By Adam Morissette
TAICHUNG, Taiwan- With 17 players returning from the team that captured gold at the Pan Am Games in July, the Senior National Team will open play at the inaugural WBSC Premier 12 event tomorrow against Cuba (6:30pm CST/5:30am EST).

Manager Ernie Whitt and his squad will compete in Group A along with Cuba, Italy, Netherlands, Puerto Rico and host Chinese Taipei.

All you need to know about Premier 12 and how you can follow Team Canada.

What: Premier 12 features the top 12 ranked nations in the world according to the WBSC (World Baseball/Softball Confederation) who will compete for a world title where the winning team will walk away with $1 (US) million in prize money.

Who: Team Canada is made up of 25 players not currently on Major League Baseball 40-man rosters. Seventeen of the 25 players on the roster won gold with Team Canada at the Pan Am Games in July. Group B consists of Japan, Dominican Republic, Venezuela, Mexico, Korea and the United States.

When: The preliminary round runs from November 8-15 at three venues in Taiwan with quarterfinals set for November 16th. Semi-final games are scheduled for November 19 and 20 in Tokyo, Japan with gold and bronze medal games to follow on November 21.

How to Watch: All Team Canada games will be shown live across Canada on Sportsnet One with replays showing later in the day.

Sportsnet ONE broadcast schedule:

Tuesday, Nov. 10
Canada vs. Cuba, 5:30 a.m. ET / 2:30 a.m. PT (Live); 3 p.m. ET / Noon PT (Replay)

Wednesday, Nov. 11
Canada vs. Puerto Rico, 5:30 a.m. ET / 2:30 a.m. PT (Live); 2 p.m. ET / 11 a.m. PT (Replay)

Thursday, Nov. 12
Canada vs. Chinese Tapei, 5:30 a.m. ET / 2:30 a.m. PT (Live); 10 p.m. ET / 7 p.m. PT (Replay)

Saturday, Nov. 14
Canada vs. Italy, 5:30 a.m. ET / 2:30 a.m. PT (Live); 10 p.m. ET / 7 p.m. PT (Replay)

Sunday, Nov. 15
Canada vs. Netherlands, 5:30 a.m. ET / 2:30 a.m. PT (Live); 5 p.m. ET / 2 p.m. PT (Replay)

More games to be announced if Team Canada advances beyond the round robin portion of the tournament.

*Note, fans not in the Sportsnet ONE viewing region can watch games live by visiting the Premier 12 website.

Comment

Adam Morissette

Adam Morissette was born and raised in Ottawa, Ont. where sports were always a big part of his life whether it be baseball, hockey or football, including playing two seasons as centre for coach Pat Sheahan with the Queen's University Golden Gaels in Kingston -- Canada's first capital. Morissette has always have been passionate about baseball and has fond memories of attending Montreal Expos games with his father, Mike, and listening to his recollection of watching baseball in Montreal at Jarry Park and stories about Gary Carter, Rusty Staub and Steve Rodgers. Morissette could often be found in a near empty Lynx Stadium watching Joe Siddall, Bert Heffernan, Curtis Pride and Jamie Carroll soaking in a beautiful summer night at the ballpark. He was a member of the provincial championship Orleans Red Sox Little League teams also played with the Ottawa White Sox for the late Lyle Anderson and Todd Burke in OBA Midget and American Legion play and the Capital City Crushers (NCBL), primarily as a catcher. Has also spent time coaching Little League in Orleans and South Ottawa. He wanted to turn his passion into a career and enrolled in Sport Business Management at Algonquin College in Ottawa in 2007. After working for the Ottawa 67's OHL team as the Ticket Coordinator, Morissette jumped at the opportunity to become the Media and Public Relations Coordinator with Baseball Canada in 2010. He loves watching and reading about pro, college or amateur baseball and is a long-time subscriber to Baseball America. Morissette is thrilled about the idea of writing about baseball and is interested in covering any story that his car -- and time -- will allow him to cover.