Maier dominates for North Shore Twins

RHP Adam Maier (North Vancouver, BC) of the North Shore Twins earned MVP honours in the BC Premier League. Photo: Paul McGrath, North Shore News

RHP Adam Maier (North Vancouver, BC) of the North Shore Twins earned MVP honours in the BC Premier League. Photo: Paul McGrath, North Shore News

Aug. 4, 2019

Maier dominates for North Shore Twins

He was the best on the mound early this season.

He was the best at the later in the summer.

He was top shelf when the season ended.

And naturally he was the MVP of the British Columbia Premier League..

That was Adam Maier’s season.

Maier (North Vancouver, BC) of the the North Shore Twins had a 7-2 won-loss record with an 0.24 ERA as he appeared in 14 games, making eight starts. He allowed 10 walks and fanned 88 in 58 1/3 innings. He had three shutouts and two saves.

Besides winning the MVP, Maier was named the top pitcher (with a WHIP of 0.55), the ERA title (0.24) and was named to All-Conference First Team.

Maier, who is taught the finer points by his pitching coach Brooks McNiven, also pitched a perfect game against the Langley Blaze. He faced 21 batters and retired 21 batters, 11 by strikeout.

Maier was one of 10 BC boyos with the Junior National Team along with Gavin Pringle, Justin Thorsteinson, Eli Saul, Jack Seward, Theo Millas, Josh Walker, Carter Morris, Ryan Scott and Loreto Siniscalchi.

And he was not too shabby at the plate either hitting .321 in 41 games with 10 doubles, a triple, a homer and 29 RBIs.

Maier has committed to attend the University of British Columbia.

2019 Premier Baseball Association All Conference & Team Awards

Award Recipients

First Team Second Team

Catchers Connor Caskenette MI Ben Columbus NS

Infielders Jaden Parsons OA Luciano Letteri CR

Aaron Marsh MI Ryan Beitel LB

Josh Walker VM Williams Camacho-Soto CR

Giordano Mezzomo CR Marcus Steen MI

Outfielders Peter Broderick ND Tasei Yahiro FV

Daniel Martin LB Jack Yaremko CR

Kodai Yaoita VM Kenneth Sugi NS

Utility Jackson Stephen MI Russel Young LB

Designated Hitter Justin Thorsteinson LB Yuta Hashiguchi WC

Pitchers Adam Maier NS Jarod Leroux OA

Eli Saul UBC Cooper Crompton FV

Lukas Frers LB Dylan Brock MI

Theo Millas LB Noah Takacs VE

Player/Team Awards

Top Pitcher (WHIP 0.55) Adam Maier NS

Top Offensive Player (SECA .422) Josh Walker VM

MVP Adam Maier NS

Rookie of the Year Ben Columbus NS, Noah Takacs VE, Kaleb Nantes VE

Leader Awards

Batting Average (.423) Peter Broderick ND

Most Homeruns (7) Giordano Mezzomo CR

Most RBI (45) Connor Caskenette MI

Most Wins (9) Dylan Brock MI, Ryan Waatainen MI

Most Strikeouts (100) Joe Sinclair NS

ERA Leaders (0.24) Adam Maier NS

ERA Leaders (0.62) Eli Saul UBC

ERA Leader (0.64) Jackson Stephen MI

Junior National Team Members: Gavin Pringle VE, Adam Maier NS, Justin Thorsteinson LB, Eli Saul UBC, Jack Seward CR, Theo Millas LB, Josh Walker VM, Carter Morris OA, Ryan Scott LB, Loreto Siniscalchi LB

Organization of the Year _ Langley Blaze

Team of the Year _ Mid-Island Pirates