WMBL: Funderburk MVP, Adams, Lloyd take rookie honours

Kody Funderburk of the Okotoks Dawgs was named the 2017 WMBL MVP. Photo Credit: Angela Burger, Okotoks Dawgs

Kody Funderburk of the Okotoks Dawgs was named the 2017 WMBL MVP. Photo Credit: Angela Burger, Okotoks Dawgs

July 31, 2017

WMBL 2017 Awards Announced

WMBL president Kevin Kvame announced the 2017 League Award winners today. The winners were voted on by selected officials from each team. The selection process was done after a very competitive season that saw entertaining baseball played throughout the WMBL

Most Valuable Player - Kody Funderburk (Okotoks Dawgs)

Kody Funderburk from the Okotoks Dawgs was named the WMBL MVP.  The Queen Creek, Ariz., product had a spectacular season. He played in 45 games with a .339 batting average and he led the WMBL in home runs with 15 round trippers. He also made nine pitching appearances and did not allow a run while striking out 11 and earning one sav

Rookie of the Year - Blake Adams (Swift Current 57’s)

Swift Current’s Blake Adams was awarded Rookie of the Year honours. The junior outfielder from Tarleton State University in Texas was very impressive in his first WMBL season. Adams hit .360 with eight doubles and 12 homers. He also registered 54 RBI and 18 stolen bases.

Canadian Rookie – Matt Lloyd (Okotoks Dawgs)      

The Okotoks born Matt Lloyd impressed the home town fans all season long. Lloyd who attends Indiana University had a 24-game hitting streak in 2017. Overall Lloyd hit .402 with eight homers, 38 RBI and seven stolen bases.

Coach of the Year – Phil Curtis (Weyburn Beavers) 

Phil Curtis has been the Weyburn Beavers' head coach for five years. This season he led his team to a second-place Eastern Division finish with a 30-18 record. Curtis also won the Coach of the Year award in 2015.

WMBL Award Winners                                                     

Most Valuable Player              Team

Kody Funderburk                    Okotoks                                        

Rookie of the Year                   Team

Blake Adams                              Swift Current                                         

Canadian Rookie                      Team

Matt Lloyd                                  Okotoks                                                 

Coach of the Year                     Team

Phil Curtis                                   Weyburn

WMBL All Stars

The Okotoks Dawgs sported the top record in the WMBL at 35-13. They also led the WMBL with eight League All Star selections (five first team and three second team).

The Regina Red Sox had six players named to the All-Star squads, three to each team.

Eastern Division leader Swift Current followed with five selections (three on the first team and two on the second team).

Lethbridge had four players named to the second All Star team while Edmonton had three selections (two first teams and one second team).

Medicine Hat had two players named while Weyburn and Fort McMurray each had one member make the All-Star team.

Brooks, Melville, Yorkton and Moose Jaw did not have a representative named to either team

  Outfielders            Team

First Team

Blake Adams           Swift Current

Broderick Rodocker            Regina

Justin Erlandson     Regina

Second Team

Zach Hanna             Okotoks

Jesse Hilyard           Lethbridge

Jordan Schulz         Regina

Third Base             Team

First Team

Eddie Sanchez        Okotoks

Second Team

Riley Campbell        Swift Current                            

Shortstop              Team

First Team

Zane Takhar           Edmonton

Second Team

Greg Cullen             Okotoks

Second Base          Team

First Team

Matt Lloyd               Okotoks

Second Team

Blake Rowlett         Medicine Hat

First Base                Team

First Team

Kody Funderburk    Okotoks

Second Team

Alex Bishop              Lethbridge

Catcher                    Team

First Team

Bodie Cooper           Swift Current

Second Team

John Hawk                Okotoks

Designated Hitter Team

First Team

Erik Sabrowski         Edmonton

Second Team

Aden Campbell         Regina

Utility                       Team

First Team

Blake Rowlett           Medicine Hat

Second Team

Brett Esau                 Swift Current

Starting Pitchers   Team

First Team

Bobby St Pierre       Swift Current

Anthony Balderas    Okotoks

Tyler Hodder           Fort McMurray

Second Team

Jake Waters              Regina

Connor Dinaro         Weyburn

Erik Sabrowski         Edmonton

Relief Pitchers       Team

First Team

Preston Minor          Regina

Second Team

Dawson Moser         Lethbridge

Closing Pitchers     Team

First Team

Tyler Burdett           Okotoks

Second Team

Chris Stodolka          Lethbridge

SandlotsCBN Staff